Intergovernmental Affairs Committee

Intergovernmental Affairs Committee has the following mandate:
   (a) preparing representations on the impact of other governments' policies on The City;
   (b) co-ordinating long term growth and development plans between The City and other municipalities; and
   (c) developing strategies to address the needs for affordable housing in Calgary.
1 Mayor
1 Councillor who has also been appointed to the Alberta Urban Municipalities Association (AUMA)
1 Councillor who has also been appointed to the Calgary Metropolitan Region Board (CMRB)
1 Councillor who has also been appointed to the Federation of Canadian Municipalities (FCM)
3 Councillors

Within the six Councillor positions, Council's three Inter-Municipal Committees must be represented:
- The City of Calgary and The City of Chestermere Intermunicipal Committee (IMC Chestermere)
- Inter-Municipal Committee - Foothills (IMC Foothills)
- Inter-Municipal Committee - Rocky View (IMC Rocky View)

The Mayor shall preside as Chair. [Sec. A.9, Procedure Bylaw 35M2017]
1 year term
Term Expiry Month:
Day:  1st Thursday
Time:  9:30 a.m.
Location:  Legal Traditions Committee Room
Fourth Floor, Administration Building

A non-member Councillor may not count towards meeting quorum. [Sec. A.13(3)(b), Procedure Bylaw 35M2017]
Resource Staff:
Surgenor-Sands, Maureen (403-268-5356)
Administrative Contact:
Legislative Advisors
City Clerk's Office
The City of Calgary
P.O. Box 2100, Station M, Mail Code #8007
Calgary AB T2P 2M5
Bus: 403-268-5861
Reports To:
Intergovernmental & Corporate Strategy

ChairVice ChairMemberRoleCurrent AppointmentExpiry Year
 Mayor Naheed NenshiMayor2010N/A
Councillor Gian-Carlo CarraCouncillor, appointed to CMRB20122021
  Councillor George ChahalCouncillor, appointed to IMC Rocky View20182021
  Councillor Peter DemongCouncillor, appointed to AUMA and IMC Foothills20102021
  Councillor Jeromy FarkasCouncillor, appointed to IMC Foothills20172021
  Councillor Jyoti GondekCouncillor20202021
  Councillor Evan WoolleyCouncillor, appointed to FCM20202021

Authority  Description Decision
1. 1988 November 29, Terms of Reference for a select committee on Intergovernmental Affairs
2. 1988 December 05, Resolution of Council That the recommendations contained in Clause N88-62 of the report of the Nominating, Agenda and Personnel Committee, dated November 29 Re: Intergovernmental Affairs Committee, be adopted
3. 1990 July 24, Final report of the Committee on Committees
4. 1990 October 22 Amendment Membership on Special Committees and Ref. CW-4 amended that membership on the four Special Committees be set at seven
5. 1991 September 03, Reconsider Motion 25-91-76 Aldermanic Representation on Special Committees
6. 1994 April 11, Clause IGA94-30 Refocussing the Intergovernmental Affairs Committee
7. 1994 October 06, IGA94-64, Modus Operandi for the Intergovernmental Affairs Committee Task Forces Established (1994 April 11 - 1994 July 07)
8. 1996 October 06, IGA94-64, Special Action Groups from the Intergovernmental Affairs Committee Terms of Reference
9. 2003 March 17, Bylaw 30M2002 The Procedure Bylaw. Part Two establishes the mandates for special committees including IGA.
10. 2003 September 08, AGS2003-43 Dissolved the Inter-Municipal Committees and Inter-Municipal Forum and delegated their terms of reference to the Intergovernmental Affairs Committee.
11. 2003 October 20, Organizational Meeting Membership increased to 6 Aldermen + the Mayor.
12. 2004 June 03, Amendment to Recommendation 16
13. 2005 October 17, IGA2005-20, 21 e22 Appoint IGA members in conjunction with AUMA, CRP and FCM appointments.
14. 2006 November 13, 44M2006 Repeals Bylaw 30M2002 The Procedure Bylaw. Regulates the proceedings of Council of the City of Calgary and its committees.
15. 2007 November 12, 51M2007 Council added Affordable Housing to the IGA committee mandate.
16. 2007 November 26 and 2007 December 03 Council established an Ad Hoc/Task Force Housing sub-committee (3 members of Council and 2 Administration) to research other programs in various cities and report back to Council through IGA. (Aldermen Farrell, Lowe and Pincott)
17. 2013 October 21, Bylaw 40M2011 coming into force. To discontinue the use of the title "Alderman" in favour of the title "Councillor"
18. 2015 October 19, Organizational Meeting of Council Composition amendment: Within the six Councillor positions for the Intergovernmental Affairs Committee, the three Inter-Municipalities Committees must be represented.
19. 2017 July 31, PFC2017-0433 and Bylaw 35M2017 To adopt a new Procedure Bylaw, and to repeal Bylaw 44M2006. The new Procedure Bylaw 35M2017 defines the mandate, powers and composition of the Intergovernmental Affairs Committee.