Standing Policy Committee on Transportation and Transit

(a) planning, design and monitoring of transportation routes;
(b) traffic operations;
(c) parking facilities; and
(d) public transit.
7 Members of Council
Mayor (Ex-Officio)

1 year
Term Expiry Month:
Day:  3rd Wednesday (if possible)
Time:  9:30 a.m.
Location:  Council Chamber

A non-member Councillor may not count towards meeting quorum. [Sec. A.13(3)(b), Procedure Bylaw 35M2017]

If present at the meeting, the Mayor has all of the rights and privileges of other Members, and is entitled to count for quorum, take part in discussion, and to vote on all items. [MGA s. 154(2)]
Resource Staff:
Boychuk, Lorie (403) 268-1905)
Heal, Alison ((403) 268-2097)
Administrative Contact:
Legislative Advisors
P.O. Box 2100, Station M
700 Macleod Trail South
Calgary AB T2P 2M5
Bus: 403-268-5861
Reports To:

ChairVice ChairMemberRoleCurrent AppointmentExpiry Year
  Mayor Naheed NenshiMayor (Ex-Officio)2012N/A
Councillor Sean ChuMember of Council20132021
  Councillor Diane Colley-UrquhartMember of Council20202021
 Councillor Jeff DavisonMember of Council20172021
  Councillor Jeromy FarkasMember of Council20172021
  Councillor Jyoti GondekMember of Council20192021
  Councillor Shane KeatingMember of Council20122021
  Councillor Joe MaglioccaMember of Council20182021

Authority  Description Decision
1. 2011 October 24, Organizational Meeting - Bylaw 60M2011 Amendment to the Procedure Bylaw 44M2006: to create a new Standing Policy Committee on Transportation and Transit. Comes into force on 2012 January 01.
2. 2013 October 21, Bylaw 40M2011 coming into force. To discontinue the use of the title "Alderman" in favour of the title "Councillor".
3. 2016 September 12, Bylaw Tabulation and Bylaw 36M2016 Bylaw 36M2016 - Mandate updated (will take effect on 2017 January 01). Council adopted Recommendations 2 and 3 of the Bylaw Tabulation: (2) Extend the term of all current Members of Council, including the Chair and Vice-Chair, on the SPC on Transportation and Transit until 2016 December 31; (3) Select membership at the 2016 October 24 Organizational Meeting of Council with appointments taking effect on 2017 January 01. Council gave three readings to Bylaw 36M2016, comes into force on January 1, 2017.
4. 2017 July 31, PFC2017-0433 and Bylaw 35M2017 To adopt a new Procedure Bylaw, and to repeal Bylaw 44M2006. The new Procedure Bylaw 35M2017 defines the mandate, powers and composition of the Standing Policy Committee on Transportation and Transit.