Emergency Management Agency, Calgary

Under the Disaster Services Act, a municipality is required or authorized to establish committees to declare local emergencies, develop emergency plans and direct emergency response. 
1 Customer Service & Communications
1 Corporate Security
Calgary Board of Education
Calgary Catholic School District
Alberta Environment
Environment Canada
Alberta Emergency Management Agency
1 Infrastructure & Information Services
1 Chief Administrative Officer
1 Inspections & Permit Services
Enmax Power Corporation
Alberta Utilities Commission
Alberta Health Services
Alberta Energy Resources Conservation Board
1 Law Department
1 Calgary Fire Department
1 Community & Neighbourhood Services
1 Water Resources
1 Water Services
1 Roads
1 Information Technology
1 Animal & Bylaw Services
1 Human Resources
1 Fleet Services
1 Public Safety Communications
1 Supply Management
1 Waste & Recycling Services
1 Calgary Police Service
1 Calgary Transit

1 year
Term Expiry Month:
As required
Day:  . TBA
Time:  TBA
Location:  To Be Announced
Eligibility Information:
Member Recruitment Profile
Resource Staff:
Burrell, Fire ChiefBruce (403-287-4255)
Administrative Contact:
Ms. Margie Strand (Admin. Asst. - CEMA / Assistant to the Deputy Chief)
Calgary Emergency Management Agency (CEMA)
Calgary Emergency Management Agency (CEMA)
Mail Code 47
Calgary AB
Bus: 403-268-8916 Fax: 403-268-8883
E-mail: margie.strand@calgary.ca
Reports To:
Emergency Management Committee

ChairVice ChairMemberRoleFirst ApptExpiry Year
  Ms. Allyson AustinHuman Resources designate2013N/A
  Ms. Katie BlackCommunity & Neighbourhood Services designate2014N/A
  Ms. Glenda ColeLaw Department2013N/A
  Mr. Bruce CullenInfrastructure & Information Services2010N/A
  Ms. Jacquie DeitchFleet Services2013N/A
  Mr. Jeff FieldingChief Administrative Officer2014N/A
  Mr. Dave GriffithsWaste & Recycling Services2008N/A
  Mr. Kevin GriffithsInspections & Permit Services2014N/A
  Mr. Richard HinsePublic Safety Communications designate2014N/A
  Mr. Ryan JestinAnimal & Bylaw Services designate2014N/A
  Mr. Owen KeyCorporate Security2010N/A
  Mr. Beng KoaySupply Management2009N/A
  Mr. Dan LimacherWater Services2012N/A
  Mr. Ian LofthouseInformation Technology designate2014N/A
  Mr. Troy McLeodRoads designate2014N/A
  Mr. Doug MorganCalgary Transit2012N/A
  Ms. Cindy PickettCustomer Service & Communications designate2014N/A
  Mr. Ray RobitailleCalgary Police designate2014N/A
  Mr. Rob SpackmanWater Resources2013N/A
  Mr. Ken UzelocCalgary Fire Department designate2014N/A

Authority  Description Decision
1. Authorizing Legislation Emergency Management Act, RSA 2000 c. E-6.8 requires municipalities to establish committees to declare local emergencies, develop emergency plans and direct emergency response.
2. 2002 May 27, C2002-48 & Bylaw 25M2002 Establishes Disaster Services Agency, Calgary
3. 2008 April 14, Bylaw 23M2008 Amends the Bylaw 25M2002: the "Calgary Disaster Services Agency" is renamed "Calgary Emergency Management Agency"